• Lexical scope — Miscellaneous nerdosity. Programming and... uh...
  • Managing a Server

I need to understand the next step in my technological education. I'm a high school student, and I'm wanting to learn more about servers over the summer. I set up an Ubuntu web server. The problem is, when I'm reading the docs for server software (nginx) and I'm setting things up, I feel like I'm blindfolded and like I don't have a full understanding of what I'm doing.

Basically, I'm asking--do I need to just read the documentation fully before taking further steps? Do you all recommend some blog posts or anything? Do I need to read up on other topics, such as terminology?

You could refer to guides, I guess. Reading the documentation is usually a very good idea, but you should read a step by step way to set up a server. Just as a starting point. Shouldn't be too hard after that. I one set up an apache server reading the absolute minimum of the documentation. This resulted in an online website, but no DNS resolution.

And yes, you should be familiar with the terminology.

Try using a piece of management software, like Webmin. It can automate a lot of things for you.

Webmin and cPanel will teach you to run a server about as well as going to Burger King will teach you to cook.

This is such a broad topic that I doubt you'll find a guide tailored to exactly what you want. Read a lot of manpages, read a lot of documentation, ask nerds if you have specific questions.

In that case, I have a question that is, I think, straightforward.

According to whatismyip.com, my IP address is 74.112.212.15. This is the server setup: server{

listen 80; root /usr/share/nginx/www; server_name localhost; index index.html index.htm; location / { try_files $uri $uri/ /index.html; }

}

Do I have something misconfigured, or do I need to take another look at my router configuration? The problem is that when I try to open the public IP in my browser, it just says 'could not connect.'